#Article (Archive)

Five Gambian NAMs sworn in to serve in ECOWAS Parliament

Feb 22, 2016, 10:29 AM | Article By: Njie Baldeh

Five Gambian National Assembly members were recently sworn in to serve at the ECOWAS Parliament, during its 4th legislative session in Abuja, Nigeria.

The Gambian delegation sworn in to the sub-regional parliament for the next four years are Hon. Ablie Suku Singhateh of Lower Badibu, Hon. Fabakary Tombong Jatta of Serrekunda East and the Majority Leader, Hon. Netty Baldeh of Tumana, Hon Abdoulie Saine of Banjul Central, and Hon. Habsana Jallow of Nianija.

Hon. Singhateh, who was once the president and chairman of the Economic Policy committee of the ECOWAS Parliament, has been elected as president and chairman of the Agriculture Policy committee of the ECOWAS Parliament.

Hon. Saine has been chosen as the Second Rapporteur on Development and Infrastructure of the ECOWAS Parliament.

Meanwhile, the sub-regional bloc’s youngest and only female representative from The Gambia, Hon. Habsana Jallow, was elected as First Rapporteur at the Communication, Information Technology Unit of ECOWAS Parliament.

They are all expected to return to Abuja in March for an extraordinary meeting of the ECOWAS Parliament.

One of The Gambia’s representatives in the ECOWAS Parliament has told The Point that The Gambia has a lot to benefit from this development, because the country has got a very strong delegation with each member holding a key position.

Senegal’s Hon. Moustaha Cisse Lo, a deputy speaker of the National Assembly in Senegal, has been elected as the Speaker of the ECOWAS Parliament for the next four years.

A memorandum signed by all members of the Senegalese delegation has announced that Hon. Lo, as the country’s sole candidate, had urged other members of the Parliament to support their choice.