#Article (Archive)

Ecobank stands out at bank of the year awards 2009

Dec 7, 2009, 2:00 PM

Ecobank, the Pan-African Bank, distinguished itself tonight by winning 11 awards at the 9th The Banker Bank of the Year Awards. The annual awards ceremony, organised by the Financial Times’ The Banker Magazine, took place at London's Intercontinental Hotel,

Park Lane
, bringing together representatives of banks and leading financial institutions from all over the world.

Ecobank, which has a larger banking network in Africa than any other bank in the world, was declared Bank of the Year in 11 countries where it operates. The banks' subsidiaries are in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Cote d'Ivoire, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo.

Speaking on behalf of the Ecobank Group, Moukaram Chanou, the Managing Director of Ecobank Niger, said "once again we are gratified to be honoured for our work in such a resounding way. Last year we were named Bank of the Year in 10 countries. This year, we’re equally delighted to be going home with 11 of these coveted awards. We shall continue to give our customers the very best in products and services, as we contribute to Africa’s economic development and financial integration."

Ecobank offers its customers a range of innovative services like its Rapidtransfer facility, allowing customers to send and receive funds quickly, as well as its Non-Resident African Account, which offers convenient and reliable services to Africans living and/or working outside their own home countries.

The Bank of the Year Awards is considered to be one of the most prestigious events within the global banking industry. The Banker Magazine is a publication of the Financial Times of London.

Incorporated in Lome, Togo, ETI is the parent company of the leading independent regional banking group in Africa. It currently has subsidiaries and offices in 31 countries, namely Benin, Burkina-Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo-Brazzaville, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, France, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Togo, Uganda, UAE (Dubai) and Zambia.