Yorro Njie elected ILS-Africa Region board member

Apr 14, 2021, 2:19 PM

Gambian Yorro Njie has been elected as ILS-Africa regional board member.

Njie was elected at the board’s General Assembly held on 20 February 2021.

It was preceded by a Board Meeting that took place on 19 February 2021.

At the General Assembly, elections were organised to elect the leadership of the ILS-Africa for the 2021-2024 period, so for three years.

All Member Federations were invited to nominate candidates for positions before the deadline of 20 November 2020.

22 out of 27 member Federations took part in the Elective General Assembly.

Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central Africa, Egypt, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Libya, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia and Uganda attended the general assembly meeting.

The below are the elected members of ILS –Africa Region.

President: Dr Mohamed Ali GHARBAL PhD (Morocco)

Secretary General: Ingy EL-SHAZLY (Egypt)


  • For North Africa: Dr Mohamed SALEH MD (Egypt)
  • For East Africa: Sally Njeri NDIRI (Kenya)
  • For Central Africa: Thierry George VACKAT (Central African Rep.)
  • For South Africa: Dhaya SEWDUTH (South Africa)

Other Board Members

  • Sameh EL-SHAZLY (Egypt)
  • Abdelkader CHEKROUN (Algeria)
  • Helen HERBERT (South Africa)
  • David Kwasi AFEZAME (Ghana)
  • Asmaeil AL HUSSIN (Libya)
  • Moussa BAGNOU AMADOU (Niger)
  • Mady COMPAORE (Burkina Faso)
  • Djamel DERBALI (Algeria)
  • El Hadji DIALLO (Senegal)
  • Mohamed GREIMICHE (Mauritania)
  • Nicaise KARNOU SAMEDI (Central African Rep.)
  • Serge Guy NGUICHIE (Cameroon)
  • Renata Alice THIEK ALAMI (Morocco)
  • Njie YORRO (Gambia)

African Representatives in the ILS Board of Directors

The following people will represent the ILS-Africa Region in the ILS Board of Directors in the 2021-2024 period:

  • Mohamed Ali GHARBAL PhD (is as ILS-Africa President automatically elected and the ILS Vice-President and is automatically Member of the ILS Chancellery).
  • Dr Mohamed SALEH MD (Egypt).
  • Colonel (ret) Abdelkader CHEKROUN (Algeria).
  • Thierry George VACKAT (Central African Republic).
  • David Kwasi AFEZAME (Ghana).
  • Mady COMPAORE (Burkina Faso) was elected first reserve.

Election of ILS-Africa Commissions

After the above elections, the elected ILS-Africa Board of Directors will appoint the Chair, Secretary and Members of the five ILS-Africa Commissions.

Read Other Articles In Sports
Ali Sowe v5
Ali Sowe scores, assist in Sofia’s Europa qualifiers win
Sep 29, 2020, 12:22 PM

Gambian forward, Ali Sowe scored and provided two assists during his Bulgarian side CSKA Sofia 3-1 home win over B36 Torshavn in the third round of the UEFA Europa League qualifiers played at the Balgarska Armia Stadium on Thursday.

Musa Jawara
Gambian international Musa Juwara returns to Bologna
Jan 11, 2021, 12:31 PM

Gambia international striker, Musa Juwara has returned to his Italian side, Bologna after cutting short his loan spell at Portuguese side, Boavista.

CAF C Licence
CAF C Licence Course wraps up today
Mar 4, 2021, 1:44 PM

The Gambia Football Federation (GFF) will bring down the curtain on the ongoing Confederation of African Football (CAF) C License coaching course today, Thursday at the National Technical Training Centre in Old Yundum.

CAF fines Gambia $100,000 over Gabon incident
Dec 10, 2020, 12:50 PM

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has fined The Gambia Football Federation $100, 000 for its role in the incident that saw the Gabon team sleeping on the airport floor on 16 November ahead of their Africa Cup of Nations qualifier.