CAF WCL: Eight clubs to participate in inaugural competition

Sep 14, 2020, 12:07 PM

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced that the inaugural Women’s Champions League will take place in 2021.

The decision was made at CAF’s recent Executive Committee meeting held on Thursday amongst a host of items including the body’s next Presidential election.

There will be Eight finalists for the inaugural edition to be organized by Six CAF zones across the continent. This means that finalists from zonal qualifications will play the eight-team tournament.

The first edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League will see the zonal Union of the host country have two representatives, but the following editions will see host countries with one representative while the reigning Champion’s Zone Union will have two representatives.

The eight qualified Clubs will be drawn into two groups of four teams each in accordance with the regulations. The competition will be annual and will take place during the second semester.

Women’s football stakeholders including GFF Women’s Football Coordinator Sainey Sissohore Mboge have welcomed the CAF Women’s Champions League initiative describing the format to make a great impact and accessible for everyone. “So the women’s game can be proud of what is has achieved. But it must continue to evolve and develop women’s need to be empowered and given the same platform to perform“.

She said the Gambia is ready to go and hoping fully to have the president’s support, the entire executive and staff. “The championship is also to boost to clubs and to the Football Associations and Federations giving more support and attention to the women’s game which has been working hard to translate support for the national teams into active interest in the domestic league

Madam Mboge congratulated CAF for coming with such a development and “hoping to see many of such for women’s football development“.

Source: GFF

Read Other Articles In Sports
Wallidan, Brikama Utd suffer debut conquest in 1st Tier
Mar 16, 2022, 12:50 PM

Wallidan and Brikama United on Monday suffered their first defeats in the 2021-2022 Gambia Football Federation (GFF) Division One League campaign after losing to Marimoo and Real de Banjul in their week-eleven matches.

Kabba Bajo v2
Team Kaba to unveil manifesto today
Jul 13, 2022, 12:04 PM

The incumbent executive of Team Lamin Kaba Bajo and his members will today, Wednesday unveil their manifesto seeking for their final and third term in office of The Gambia Football Federation.

Fortune FC
10-man Fortune held by Brikama United
Jun 8, 2021, 2:33 PM

The league leaders, Fortune FC were held in a 1-1 draw by second place occupant, Brikama United during their week-18 fixtures of The Gambia Football Federation 1st Division League played at the Independence Stadium on Saturday.

LRR wins United Purpose funded sport for development football competition
Nov 8, 2021, 1:59 PM

Lower River Region (LRR) football team were crowned champions of the United Purpose/ Tekki-fii funded inter-regional football tournament following their 3-1 win over the Central River Region (CRR) in a keenly contested final played in Jarra Soma in front of local supporters.