Over dozen charged with diplomatic passport fraud

Jul 15, 2020, 11:54 AM

Some 15 people have been charged with multiple counts of fraud and forgery over the much-talked about diplomatic passport scandal that prompted an investigative panel comprising the Police, Immigration and sister agencies.

During an interview with West Coast Radio’s popular Tuesday breakfast programme, dubbed ‘Coffee Time with Peter Gomez’, the government spokesperson, Ebrima G. Sankareh revealed that the 15 accused persons are in three batches and appearing before different judges in Banjul and the KMC courts. One batch appears before Justice Ebrima Jaiteh of the Banjul High Court, one before Justice Nguye Mboob Janneh of the newly opened Mile 7 High Court and another appears before Justice Modou S.M. Jallow of the Bundung High Court.

The accused in the diplomatic passport case are:
1. Mansa Sumareh 

2. Saikou Sanneh (absconded)
3. Ebrima Sanneh
4. Ousman Touray (absconded)
5. Baboucarr Jobarteh
6. Ismaila Kanteh
7. Banka Jatta
8. Lang Tombong Sabally
9. Michael Ladipo (absconded)

10.Amadou Touray
11. Lamin Darboe
12. Yankuba Sussoh
13. Muhammed Mbye

14. Baboucarr Bah 

15. Dodou Camara

However, of the fifteen accused persons, three have reportedly fled the jurisdiction leaving behind twelve (12) of their co-accused who are now battling their fates before the courts.

It could be recalled that when the diplomatic passport scandal erupted late 2019, it sent shockwaves across the nation and put our diplomatic partners in a state of high alert over the potential ramifications of the wrong people in possession of such an important national document. Arrests were made both locally and internationally as law enforcement agencies pursued leads into the matter.
President Adama Barrow promised to leave no stone unturned in the matter and assured the diplomatic and consular corps that ‘there will be no sacred cows’ when the investigations were closed.

Read Other Articles In Headlines
enforcement of face masks
Enforcement of compulsory face masks wearing begins
Aug 5, 2020, 11:44 AM

The Gambia government has begun the enforcement of compulsory wearing of face masks starting Tuesday as part of measures to fight and curb the spread of coronavirus.

Kijera Jammeh
$3M proceeds from Jammeh property reserved for Gambia
Oct 6, 2021, 11:57 AM

Highly placed multiple sources confirmed to The Point that proceeds from the sale of the $3 million Potomac mansion of former President Jammeh in Maryland will be earmarked for the Gambian people, after sales and other procedures followed through by U.S. Justice Department.

APRC promises to update militants on any coalition decision
Jul 16, 2020, 12:17 PM

The Alliance for Patriotic Re-orientation and Construction (APRC) promises to inform its supporters and sympathisers if a decision for a coalition with any party is reached; as it denies claims that it was in talks with National Peoples Party (NPP).

Parliament to vote for or against Constitution Promulgation Bill 2020 today
Sep 21, 2020, 12:01 PM

National Assembly Members (NAMs) will today vote for or against the Promulgation bill 2020, which will require 44-member to let it go for referendum in January 2021.