#Article (Archive)

Toubakolong Utd captures Noran Championship

May 31, 2010, 1:57 PM | Article By: Cherno O Bobb

Toubakolong United are the champions of the Toubakolong Noran Championship, sponsored by Ousman Sowe in the Upper Niumi District of North Bank Region (NBR) following their hard fought 2-1 victory over Mbye DC in the final, played at the Toubakolong Football Field on Saturday 29th May 2010.

The high-rated final attracted a large crowd of sports personalities and spectators from Toubakolong and its surrounding environs.

Mbye DC FC opened the score line just 12 minutes into the game through Buba Drammeh.

Toubakolong United fought back and leveled the score line through Gibril Ceesay in the 27th minute of the game, thus the first half ended 1-1.

Saikou Sarr scored the winning goal of the game for Toubakolong United in the 72nd minute of the game to crown them champions of the tournament.

Toubakolong United, the winners of the championship went home with a giant trophy and a cash prize of D2, 000, while Mbye DC FC, the runners-up received a consolation prize of D1, 000.

Toubakolong Sports Committee at the end of the competition certified all participating players of various teams with their coaches.