#Article (Archive)

Kombo South district football Carnival draw held

Mar 29, 2017, 1:32 PM | Article By: Lamin Darboe

Issued Tuesday 28 March 2017
The draw for the 2017 Kombo South district biggest football carnival was held on Saturday at the Kaira Su Federation Skills Training Centre in Sanyang.

Twelve villages namely, the defending champions Kartong, Nyofelleh, Jambur, Mamuda, Sanyang, Tanji, Madina Salam, Farato, Batokunku, Farato, Jambanjelly and Gunjur Kunkujang are set to vie for the championship.

Group A comprises the defending Kartong, Banyaka and Mamuda.

Group B consists of Gunjur Kunkujang, Nyofelleh and Sanyang.

Group C is made up of Jamburr, Tanji and Madina Salam.

Group D consists of Jambanjelly, Farato and Bato kunku.

It would be recalled that Kartong clinched the last Kombo South district football tournament title after beating Tanji 1-0 in the final game played at the Sanyang Football Field.

Midfielders Ernest Gibba scored the only goal for Kartong in the first half to snatch their first-ever Kombo South district football tournament crown.