#Article (Archive)

Dodou Joof Wins GAA Presidential Election Unopposed

Nov 14, 2011, 2:34 PM | Article By: Lamin Drammeh

Alhaji Dodou Joof, aka Capi, has once again been honored with a four-year leadership role at the GAA after the veteran sports icon won unopposed the presidential seat of the association at its Saturday’s assembly.

The uncontested race of the GAA former secretary general, who has accumulated a wealth of athletics experience, came about after the controversial withdrawal of Musa. P. Manneh, who initially voiced his ambition to contest the presidency before making a u-turn to join Capi and his camp.

Capi, who vacated his secretary general’s position in favour of the highest GAA post, enjoyed the backing of the 17 athletics clubs across the country that converged at the Independence Stadium V.I.P Lounge to choose their new executive following the end of term of the former executive led by Fred Llody Evans, who recently tendered his resignation to his former employers to stay in the United States of America.

Shortly after his election for the first time into the GAA top seat, the emotional new GAA boss has promised to redouble his effort in his quest to take the association to the highest desirable level.

He has also vowed to set up a marketing committee that will be tasked with the responsibility of raising funds for the GAA, while expressing the desire to raise the profile of the Gambian athletes by exposing them to international athletics standard.

Interestingly, not only Capi that was elected unopposed; all the new executive members also got their seats unchallenged.

The following are the new executive members who all went unopposed in their respective positions: Alh. Bai Ndongo Faal-1st vice president; Edrissa Chico Njie, 2nd vice president; Aja Amira Jagne, secretary general; Mr Martin Gomez, assistant secretary general; Samba A.S. Mbye, treasurer, and Pa Assan Sylva, auditor.

Six other persons, namely Bakary Jammeh, Alh, Mustapha Gibba, Ousman Jallow, Jabou Jawo, Ousman Njie, and Abdoulie Kah, were selected to serve as co-opted members, while Ebrima Ceesay and Fanny Sinuobi will be working closely with the newly elected GAA executive as athletics representatives.

The former president of the GAA, Fred Llody Evans, was also honoured by the new executive, to serve as the honorary life president of the association in recognition of what officials described as his outstanding contribution towards the development of athletics during his sojourn at the helm of affairs, while Badou Ndow was chosen to serve as honorary member of the association.