#Article (Archive)

23 players go to camp ahead of Senegal clash

Jul 1, 2015, 10:27 AM | Article By: Lamin Darboe

Twenty-three Gambian local based Scorpions players have moved to camp for their crunch 2016 African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifiers second leg tie at home to Senegal on Saturday 4 July 2015, at the Independence Stadium in Bakau.

The Scorpions lost to Tarranger Lions 3-1 in the first leg tie played at the Stade Demba Diop in Dakar, a fortnight ago.

The Scorpions under the guidance of Coach Peter Bonu Johnson are currently preparing physically and morally for their weekend clash with the Tarranger Lions in their quest to qualify for the second round of the qualifiers, following their disappointing defeat in the first leg in Dakar.

The Scorpions will be challenging to overturn a 3-1 deficit in the second leg in order to sail to the second round of the qualifiers as well as keeping their hopes of qualifying for the 2016 African Nations Championship (CHAN) competition to be hosted in Rwanda from January 16 to 7 February 2016 alive.

The Tarranger Lions need only a draw to seal a place in the second round of the qualifiers, but a heavy defeat against the Scorpions will see them out and let them hang boots until next qualifiers.

Ticket prices for the game are as follows: covered pavilions D50, uncovered pavilions D25 and VIP area D300.

Meanwhile the officials and 23 players in camp at the Paradise Suites Hotel are: officials: Peter Bornu Johnson, Head Coach; Matarr Alieu Mboge, assistant coach; Abdoulie Bakary Njie G/K coach; Kalifa Manneh, team medics/doctor and Pa Ousman Manneh Masseur.

Players: Christopher Allen, GPA FC; Alhagie Bah, Real De Banjul; Baka Ceesay, Gamtel; Ousman Cham, Banjul United FC; Lamin Charty, Hawks FC; Saikou Conteh, Steve Biko FC; Bully Drammeh, Brikama United FC; Joseph Gomez Wallidan FC; Salifu Krubally, Real De Banjul; Modou Jatta, Steve Biko FC; Abdoulie Jallow, Real De Banjul; Ebrima Jobe, Gamtel; Ebou Kanteh, Brikama United FC; Mass Manga, Hawks FC; Daniel Mendy, Brikama United FC; Sang Pierre Mendy, Gamtel; Yahya Ndong, Gamtel; Abdou Njie, GPA FC; Bakary Njie, Wallidan; Mustapha Njie, Bombada FC; Emil Sambou, GAF FC; Kabba Sambou, Hawks FC and Modou Sarr Gamtel FC.