#National News

People’s Progressive Party elects new board of trustees 

Aug 12, 2021, 1:48 PM

The general public is hereby informed that the National Central Committee of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) on Saturday, August 7th, 2021, elected Fifteen (15) distinguished personalities as the board of trustees of the party.

This is in fulfillment of article forty (40) of the People’s Progressive Party constitution. 

 The elected members are: 

  1. Ms. Aji Bintou Jaiteh 
  2. Mr. Malangba Manneh 
  3. Hon. Omar Amadou Jallow 
  4. Mr. Bakary M.S.A Manneh 
  5. Hon James FP Gomez 
  6. Ms. Tisbeh Jobe 
  7. Ms. Astou Lam
  8. Mr. Kebba Danso 
  9. Mr. Alpha Jallow 
  10. Mr. Ousman Jarju 
  11. Ms. Aji Saptieu Jaye 
  12. Mr. Saikou Konateh 
  13. Mr. Uthman A.N Jeng 
  14. Mr. Sanusi Touray 
  15. Mr. Tijan Cham


As per the constitution, the Board of Trustees shall: 

  1. Be the embodiment of the conscience, the soul, and the sanctity of the Party, and to be the mirror of the highest standard of morality in the Party and to intervene in all disputes and crises in the Party to ensure its stability at all times. 
  2. Advice when considered necessary and initiate policies for the guidance of the Party.
  3. Act as Arbitrators and Mediators in disputes and ensure the enforcement of discipline under the Constitution of the Party.
  4. Promote reconciliation, encourage and facilitate the settlement of disputes in an amicable manner amongst Party members 
  5. Ensure that peace and tranquility prevail in the Party and when necessary intervenes to restore absolute peace.
  6. Convene the National Congress of the Party with the concurrence of two-thirds (2/3) of its membership, where there is any situation that prevents the National Executive Committee from functioning.
  7. Regulate its proceedings and shall draw up a Code of Conduct for its members to observe.
  8. Perform any other functions assigned to it by the National Congress. 
  9. Elect its Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, Secretary, and other officers among themselves, as deemed necessary, to formulate its own Rules and Procedures to regulate its meetings and activities.
  10. The Board of Trustees shall be in office for a period of four (4) years subject to renewal for another four years at the National Central Committee. 


The PPP congratulates all the appointees and looks forward to learning and working with these respected personalities.


Mr. Uthman A.N Jeng

Director of Media and Communication

For more information contact +220 2487037

Read Other Articles In National News
EU support Gambian Youths
EU set to expand support to Gambian youth through YEP
Jun 10, 2020, 1:00 PM

The European Union (EU) said it’s expanding its support to young Gambians by enabling the Youth Empowerment Project (YEP) to venture into new, well-needed activities, and extending its implementation period to November 2022.

COVID-19: Sifoe meets security units to ensure tight patrol at border
Aug 7, 2020, 1:15 PM

Village Development Committee VDC in the Kombo South settlement of Sifoe Wednesday yesterday met with various security units stationed at the community’s Police Station in a bid to discuss ways to ensure tight security at the border crossing point of ‘Allahil Bolong’ in the Senegalese province of Cassamance.

Covid 19 v3
Gov’t develops broader effective covid-19 containment response
Aug 6, 2020, 9:40 AM

Based on reliable projections, The Gambia government anticipated the surge in numbers and is currently developing a dynamic and cost-cutting national COVID-19 response strategy document for effective containment of the pandemic.

Cuban Health heroes
Cuban Health heroes in the Gambia:  Dr. Marubia, three missions saving lives in The Gambia
Sep 29, 2021, 11:26 AM

D Marubia Rosales Sánchez is a Medicine graduate in 1990, a First and Second Degree specialist in Comprehensive General Medicine, and a Master in medical urgencies and emergencies.