#Article (Archive)

National Sports Council Dissolved

Mar 9, 2009, 7:35 AM | Article By: Sainabou Kujabi

After a four-year term, the National Sports Council has been dissolved with effect from March 5th 2009, and will be replaced by an interim committee to administer the affairs of Council.

This is in line with the National Sports Council Act part II, section 6, which states that "Except in the case of ex-officio members, a member shall hold office for four years, subject to renewal."

According to a release sent to Pointsport, "the Hon. Minister of Youth and Sports in exercise of his power under section 6 of the National Sports Council has with effect from 5th March 2009 dissolved the National Sports Council following expiration of the four-year term of members."

According to the release, "in the interim a committee would be put in place to administer the affairs of Council".

The interim Council members are  George Gomez, Modou Gaye, Sheikh Faye, Bakary Jammeh, Ousman Wadda, Alex Dacosta, the Director of Youth and Sports, and representative of the Permanent Secretary of the Department of State for Basic Education.