#Article (Archive)

APRC, NRP to vie for Kiang West National Assembly seat

Nov 22, 2013, 9:38 AM

The ruling Alliance for Patriotic Reorientation and Construction (APRC) and the opposition National Reconciliation Party (NRP) have nominated candidates for the vacant Kiang West parliamentary seat, the Independent Electoral Commission, IEC, announced Thursday.

The APRC nominated Menata Njai while the NRP nominated Pa Touray Bajinka for the bye-election set for Thursday 5th December 2013, the IEC said in a press release.

The Kiang West constituency National Assembly seat became vacant following the expulsion of Hon. Yahya Dibba by the APRC party after the party said that he was found to have conducted himself in a manner that runs contrary to the rules of the APRC, and the party cannot accept such behavior from its membership.

According to the party, Hon. Dibba was expelled in the interest of sanity within the ranks of the APRC party, as well as its support base.