Super Nawetan set for October 4

Tuesday, August 25, 2015
The country’s community biggest football fiesta better known as Super Nawetan Zonal football championship is set for 4 October 2015.

The annual championship brings together twelve major nawetan zones that compete for the silverwear.

Banjul, Serrekunda East and Bakau have won the super nawetan more than any other zone since its inception in the 90s.

Lamin have won the super nawetan twice: in 2002 and 2011 respectively.

Sukuta, Brikama and Serrekunda West have won the Super Nawetan once in their history in 2005, 2012 and 2013 respectively.

Gunjur, Manjai, Brufut, BEM and Serrekunda Central are yet to taste the bitterness of the super nawetan trophy since its inception in the 90s.

The super nawetan attracts more spectators, more ambiance and quality football than the national league matches.

The super nawetan also generates more funds than the national leagues, and the national league clubs use super nawetan to scout good players for their respective clubs.

The national team coaches also use super nawetan to scout good players for their various national teams.

It would be recalled that Serrekunda East clinched the 2014 Super Nawetan title following their penalty shootout win over Bakau in a well-contested final game played at the Serrekunda East Mini Stadium, after a goalless draw in the regulation time.

Author: Lamin Darboe
Source: Picture: Super Nawetan organizing committee chairman Ba S. Jabbi