Seedy Njie resigns as APRC reshuffles executive

Friday, June 08, 2018

Tipped as the former President Jammeh’s most loyalist supporter in the past few years, Seedy S.K. Njie has resigned effective Monday June 4, 2018, as a member of Alliance for Patriotic Reorientation and Construction’s (APRC) spokesperson, according to party leader Fabakary Tombong Jatta.

This development nullified Njie’s seat as an executive member of the party, Mr. Jatta said.

This disclosure was made on Thursday at a press conference held at the party’s bureau in Manjai, as party executive continues to make clarifications about the recent leadership crisis the party is battling with.

FTJ, as fondly called, paid glowing tribute to Njie for his immense contribution to the party and said “as a party, we acknowledge and appreciate the immense contribution of Alh. Seedy S.K. Njie to this party. We will never forget it.”

“Honourable Njie is a young man,” he continued. “Lots of water passed under the bridge, but we don’t need to say all that. But what happened was his utterances were a concern, and therefore, we had to engage him to know why and contextualize it and we came out; we wrote the background but we are back to reconcile,” he said. “And that’s why Seedy offered in the circumstances, the best way forward is to resign as spokesperson. He has not resigned from the party; he has resigned from that position given to him.”

No official comments was made by Mr. Njie but he is claimed to have been forced to resign by senior party members after he publicly showed his 100% support to President Barrow in an interview with a local newspaper.

Meanwhile effective from June 4, 2018, Amul Nyassi the National Assembly Member for Foni Kansala is appointed the new spokesperson of the party,  Honourable L.S.B. Colley is the newly appointed second deputy leader, Dodou Jah, deputy spokesperson and secretary, Mberry Sowe, deputy National Women mobilizer, Pa Matarr Ndow, deputy National Youth mobilizer and Bakary Debo Badjie Member of the National Executive Committee.

Author: Sankulleh Gibril Janko
Source: Picture: Seedy S.K. Njie & Hon. Musa Amul Nyassi