Rangers FC crowned Serrekunda East knockout champions

Monday, February 11, 2019

Rangers FC have been crowned champions of the Senegambia Real Estate sponsored Serrekunda East knockout tournament after beating Zurich FC 3-2 on post-match penalty shootout following a goalless draw in the regulation time on Saturday.

The Tallinding-based team, Zurich FC dominated the entire first period of the game and created some scoring opportunities but couldn’t find their opponents’ back of the net.

Rangers FC also held on their opponents in the second half with the creation  of goal scoring chances but squandered them and both teams forced the match into a penalty shootout.

As winners, Rangers FC were awarded a giant trophy and cash prize of D40, 000, while the runners-up Zurich FC pocketed home with D30, 000.

Zurich assistant coach Essa Jatta expressed sadness for losing against Rangers, noting that they have prepared so hard to deservingly win the final. “This is all about football. You either win or lose and today we are in the losing side. I don’t see any problem in my team. They’ve shown a good performance but I believe luck was not on our side today.”

According to him, the only major problem for his side occurred during the penalty shootout, adding that his penalty takers refused to take a penalty because they were angry for playing late.

“One of our problems in this final is that my penalty takers refused to kick the penalty because maybe they were not happy about the time they were brought into the game.

Rangers head coach Abdoulie Sanneh expressed happiness for being crowned championship of the tournament, while complimenting his side for showing a respectable performance. “We really deserved this trophy because we trained and prepared so much for it. I have been expecting to win them in the match but winning them in the penalty shootout is all the same,” he said.

According to him, they have been training for the final for over a month, even though they haven’t been training together because most of them are divisional players.

Author: Arfang M.S. Camara & Lamin Gibba