Papa Gassama Apologises To Nigeria After Error In AFCON Clash With S/ Africa

Thursday, November 22, 2018

(Wednesday 21st November 2018 Issue)

Gambian referee Bakary Papa Gassama has apologised Nigeria senior national team for mistakenly ruling out their winning goal against South Africa in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers played in Johannesburg on Saturday.

Papa Gassama, who won continent’s best referee award for three times in a row, apologised to the Super Eagles after denying them two goals against Bafana Bafana but the goal were ruled out by the Gambian referee as an off-side.

Gassama ruled out Kelechi Iheanacho and Ahmed Musa’s goal as an off-side as Super Eagles drew 1-1 with Bafana Bafana in the continent’s biggest football gala qualifiers over the weekend.

Nigeria qualified for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon despite their 1-1 away to South Africa.

 Gassama was assisted by compatriots Sulayman Sosseh and Omar Darboe whom both admitted the error and send their apologies to Nigeria over the incident.

Author: Arfang M.S. Camara