New Castle crowned Farato Senior league champions

Monday, January 22, 2018

New Castle FC on Saturday beat defending champions Ceesay FC to be crowned champions of Hon Kebba K. Barrow Senior League tournament.

The game ended goalless before New Castle went on to win 6-5 in the post-match penalty shootout.

In attendance were the Hon Kebba K. Barrow as the chief guest of honor who came with a high power delegation, and Aja Fatou Sowe, Alkalo Farato.

As winners, a prize of D15000 and giant trophy was given to champions New Castle, while runners up Ceesay FC received D10, 000.

D10,000 cash prizes was distributed among the following: best fans club, Best player award to Abdoukarim Bojang of New Castle, leading goal scorer, Lamin Sanneh; best coach went to Mustapha Jarjue of Ceesay fc. Babou Cham of Ceesay fc was awarded best goalkeeper and Veterans fc as the most discipline team.

In an interview with Sports journalist Alieu Ceesay, Comma Camara, the Secretary General of the Farato Sports Committee commended both teams for the maximum discipline demonstrated. 

Author: Alieu Ceesay