Legislators adopt nomination of membership to Parliamentary Friendship Group

Tuesday, September 04, 2018

Deputies on Monday at the Third Ordinary Session of the National Assembly adopted the Nomination of Membership to the Parliamentary Friendship Groups between the National Assembly of the Republic of The Gambia, National People’s Congress of The People’s Republic of China and the Grand National Assembly of Turkey.

The majority leader and member for Kombo South, Kebba K.K. Barrow who tabled the motion before lawmakers said the nominations were made in accordance with Clause 76 (2) of the Standing Orders of the National Assembly.

Hon. Barrow informed deputies that these two Friendship Groups were established by National Assembly through a motion tabled on Wednesday October 4, 2017. “The respective Motions also gave the Committee of Selection the mandate to nominate Membership to these Friendship Groups.”

“The Committee of Selection met on Thursday 14th June, 2018, to consider the nomination of membership to these Groups. After deliberations, the committee concluded on the composition of the said Groups.”

According to Hon. Barrow, the committee was also guided and assisted by the Office of the Clerk of the National Assembly during this process.

Hon: Samba Jallow, the minority leader and member for Niamina Dankunku, said in the issue of expertise and experience, National Assembly members were asked to submit their CVs, adding that members should have the criteria before being selected to the friendship parliamentary groups.

Author: Njie Baldeh