FIFA prexy congratulates Kabba Bajo on re-election

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

The President of world football governing body (FIFA) Gianni Infantino has congratulated Lamin Kaba Bajo on his re-election as the President of The Gambia Football Federation.

Mr. Bajo, was re-elected for a new four-year mandate with a landslide 63 votes win after his challenger Mr. Malick Sillah could only poll 2 votes in an Elective Congress held on Saturday 18 August, 2018, at a local hotel in Banjul.

FIFA delegated two observers to witness the congress and following its formal report to the body, the Swiss-Italian, 48, in a congratulatory letter dispatched to Football House wished Mr. Bajo, 53, and his team the best of luck, strength and every success for all the challenges that lie ahead during his second term in office.

“I would like to warmly congratulate you on your re-election as President of The Gambia Football Federation (GFF) for the 2018-2022 period,”Mr. Infantino said in the letter.

“Please also convey my congratulations to Mr. Lang-Tombong Tamba on his election as the 3rd Vice President of the GFF,” he added, while expressing hope that he would see the GFF boss at the best FIFA Football Awards 2018 in London next month.

It could be recalled that Kabba was first elected as President of the GFF in 2014 and it was during his time, a first ever term-limit is introduced in Gambian football administration when stakeholders amended the Constitution to insert a two-term constitutional provision for the position of President.

Aside from the positions of President and Third Vice President, all other elective positions in the eight-member Executive Committee went unopposed as M. Bakary K. Jammeh and Mr. Ebou Faye won the race for the First and Second Vice Presidents respectively.

Mr. Alhaji Ebrima Faye and Mr. Ismaila S. Ceesay were also elected unopposed as the Referees Representative and an ExCO Member respectively while Ms. Sainabou Cham and Ms. Maimuna Kanteh are the two Female Representatives.

Following their election, the Committee co-opted Major Musa Jammeh, widely known as Falcons, and Mr. Sadibou Kamassa as Members. Source-GFF