Bensouda wins UDP’s primary for KMC Mayoral

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

The United Democratic Party (UDP) has selected Talib Ahmed Bensouda as the mayoral candidate for Kanifing Municipality in the upcoming local government elections after a well contested battle among 5 candidates at the party’s bureau in Manjai on Saturday.

Speaking shortly after being declared winner, Ahmed said the victory was not his but the party’s as well as KMC and the country as a whole. He thanked his fellow contestants, claiming democracy couldn’t have been exercised had they not participated.

“This was possible because five candidates were willing to put in the efforts throw themselves into the ring and fight for the flag bearer of UDP. Therefore, I want to thank my fellow contestants; without their efforts democracy wouldn’t have been possible”, he said. “We have shown that we are democratic and we will show that we are united”

He promised to revamp the entire structure of the country’s biggest municipality and create jobs for the youths when elected as mayor on May 12 and that he will not disappoint. “I’ll not disappoint UDP and I’ll not disappoint the people of KMC”

“The reason I want to run as mayor is to develop the nation because for 22 years, I have been sadden with the nature of our schools, our markets, our roads and the lack of facilities but God willing you will all be proud of the next five years”, he claimed

Talib convincingly won the first round of the votes counted but fell short of the absolute majority. He got 68 of 139 votes casted, representing 48.9%. Second position Mustapha had 43 votes, represent ting 30.9% and Magid Touray in third won 27 votes of 19.4%. Buramanding Jaiteh could only manage a vote while Badi Alpha Jaiteh got no vote.

Bensouda doubled his lead, however, in the second round as he collected 87 of the 134 votes casted – 64.9%. His only contestant in the second round Mustapha could only managed 47 votes – 35.1%.

Voting was done by 20 delegates from each of the 7 constituencies in the Kanifing Municipality and the regional chairman accumulating to 141 votes.

The other 4 contestants could not be reached for their reactions but shortly before voting all of them promised to rally behind anyone who emerged as the winner.

Author: Sankulleh Gibril Janko