Assembly select committee on Agriculture commences tour

Thursday, November 09, 2017

The National Assembly select committee on Agricultural and Rural Development, on Tuesday 7th November, 2017, commenced a nationwide tour beginning from Ministry of Agriculture to other institutions under the purview of the said ministry. The select committee that comprises 14 members was led by the National Assembly member for Janjanjbureh Hon. Momodou Ceesay who is also the chairman of the committee.

The delegation met the minister of agriculture Hon. Omar Jallow and his Permanent Secretary Sait Drammeh, the CPCU coordinator and the director general NARI.

During their meeting, the officials of the Ministry of Agriculture were able to share information with the delegation as regards to their works and also challenges they are being faced with.

Speaking at the meeting, Hon. Momodou Ceesay who doubles as the chairman of the committee explained the purpose of their tour, saying they came to access the first-hand information regarding updates and challenges.

The team also met Momodou Mbye Jabang the coordinator of the CPCU and his team, who also explained to them their major activities regarding issues they are doing for the rural people of this country.

Hon. Ceesay, seized the opportunity to thank the minister of Agriculture and his team for sharing relevant information with them. He further explained the rationale behind sharing the information with the select committee, saying it’s meant to craft a roadmap for a way forward.

Author: Abdoulie Nyockeh