2018 Super Nawettan draw held

Monday, October 15, 2018

(Friday 12th October, 2018 Issue)

Draw for the 2018 Super Nawettan football competition was held Wednesday featuring sixteen zones for the first time in the history of the country’s community biggest football jamboree.

This year’s championship will witness three new faces namely Sanyang, Lower River Region and Farato; Busumbala and Yundum merged after their introduction in the annual football fray by The Gambia Football Federation.

The country’s most fancied football carnival started in 1992 by then Gambia Football Association (GFA) with eight zones namely Banjul, Bakau, Brikama, Gunjur, Lamin, Sukuta, Serrekunda East and West.

The championship was increased to ten zones in 2011 following the inclusion of Manjai and Serrekunda Central.

The country’s community biggest football fiesta was again increased to twelve zones in 2012 after the inclusion of Brufut and Barra, Essau and Mayamba (BEM). The yearly football contest was again increased to fourteen zones last year with the inclusion of Kombo East and Foni.

The year’s competition will feature sixteen zones after the inclusion of Sanyang, Lower River Region and Farato, Busumbala and Yundum merger. The tournament usually attracts more spectators, ambiances and revenue than the country’s domestic division one and two leagues.

The national team and league club coaches use the super Nawettan to scout good players for their respectively clubs prior to the beginning of the new league season.

The draw for the tournament is as follows.

Group A                                                       Group B

Sukuta                                                          BEM

Manjai                                                            LRR

Kombo East                                                  Foni

FBY                                                             SK Central


Group C                                                       Group D

Gunjur                                                          SK East

Brufut                                                            Banjul

Brikama                                                        SK West

Lamin                                                           Sanyang

According to the Super Nawetan Organizing Committee, the yearly football tournament will kick off on 26 October.

Author: Lamin Darboe